Skip links

LEED vs BOMA BEST – which one is right for your business?

LEED for existing buildings (also known as LEED EB:O&M) and BOMA BEST are well known green building standards in the sustainability industry, but which one should you pursue for your property? While there are some overlaps, there are several factors to consider when deciding between the two.


  • – Both green building standards aim to promote sustainability, environmental stewardship, as well as energy, water, and waste management efficiency within buildings.
  • – Both standards have versions applicable to new and existing properties.
  • – There are applications streams for single properties as well as for a portfolio of properties in both standards.
  • – Both standards have minimum requirements for certification known as BEST Practices in BOMA, and Prerequisites in LEED
  • – Both standards have an online portal and application process.



Certified – Meet BOMA BEST Practices and achieve up to 19% on the questionnaire Certified – Meet all prerequisites in the rating system and earn 40 – 49 points
Bronze – Meet BOMA BEST Practices and achieve 20-49% on the questionnaire Silver – Prerequisites and 50 – 59 points
Silver – Meet BOMA BEST Practices and achieve 50-79% on the questionnaire Gold – Prerequisites and 60 – 79 points
Gold – Meet BOMA BEST Practices and achieve 80-89% on the questionnaire Platinum – Prerequisites and 80+ points
Platinum – Meet BOMA BEST Practices and achieve 90-100% on the questionnaire



Application fees range from $3,570  to a maximum of $17,640 depending on BOMA membership status and building size For existing buildings under the Building Operations and Maintenance pathway, application fees range from $12,340 to $18,350 for a building 250,000 ft2 or less.

Buildings 250,001-499,999 ft2 pay an additional $0.021-$0.0252 per additional ft2.

Buildings 500,000-749,999 ft2 pay an additional $0.018-$0.0216 per additional ft2.

Buildings >750,000 ft2 can calculate pricing using the tool:



BOMA BEST certification is valid for a 3-year period for single buildings. The certification of buildings registered under the portfolio stream does not expire if annual sample verification data provided is successful.

There are currently two LEED versions available to pursue recertification for existing buildings, LEED V4 and LEED V4.1. LEED V4 certification is valid for a 5-year period. LEED V4.1 certification is valid for a 3-year period as long as annual performance data is reported to LEED each year.




  • – Best for small to medium facilities
  • – Multiple-tenant facilities such as: commercial office buildings, malls, retail, light industrial.
  • – Less intensive requirements
  • – More affordable
  • – Best for medium to large facilities.
  • – Some tenants require it
  • – More stringent sustainability performance requirements
  • – More expensive
  • – A high level of operational control is needed to achieve higher certification levels.
  • – Simplified process for properties that are already certified to LEED-NC (New Construction) or LEED-CS (Core and Shell)
  • – Having a LEED Accredited Professional assist you with your application can earn you a credit under LEED v4.1.



While there are differences between these two well-established green building standards, they both are valuable tools to enhance your property’s environmental and sustainability performance through operational and design improvements.

Achieving certification for your properties can also be used to help promote your sustainability efforts to tenants and investors. Many of our clients pursue both certifications simultaneously for the same property, in order to take advantage of all the sustainability strategies advocated for by each standard, gain additional recognition from stakeholders, while minimizing costs compared to obtaining accreditations separately.

  • Contact us today to learn more about our LEED and BOMA BEST Certification services and how we can help you achieve your sustainability goals!

Leave a comment